Pramac P3500i: Petrol Inverter Generator for the Home

What the Pramac P3500i petrol inverter generator can run, how long it runs on a tank, what comes in the box and how to start, use and store…

The Pramac P3500i is a petrol inverter generator: a portable engine-driven unit that produces mains-style 230V power for a household when the mains fails. It is rated at 3,000W continuously, with a maximum of 3,300W for short surges, and it runs for about 6 hours at 75% load on its 10 litre tank1. It has two 13A UK sockets and two 5V USB ports, so it can run appliances and charge phones from the same unit1.

It is a substantial piece of kit. At 49.5kg it is not something one person lifts easily, and at 61 dB(A) at 7 metres it is audible well beyond your own garden1. The supplier describes it as ideal for non-intensive domestic or semi-professional use, which is the right frame for it: occasional backup during an outage, not continuous running1.

This page sets out what the P3500i can power, how long it runs, what comes in the box, how to start and run it, and the safety rules that apply to any petrol generator. Those rules are not optional. A petrol generator produces carbon monoxide, and it must never be run indoors, in a garage or in any enclosed or partly enclosed space.

What the P3500i is and who it suits

The P3500i is a single-phase generator operating at 230V and 50Hz, using inverter technology1. Inverter output is smoothed electronically, and the supplier states that this gives stable power for the safe operation of sensitive electronics2. That matters in a household context: a fridge, a freezer, a boiler's controls, a laptop and a phone charger are all things people want back during an outage, and inverter output is the reason a generator of this kind is chosen over a plain open-frame unit.

The engine is a four-stroke OHV petrol unit of 212cc, rated at 3000 rpm and built to Stage V emissions standards1. One distributor names it as a Loncin engine and the other as a Pramac engine; both describe the same Stage V four-stroke unit, so treat the naming as a difference in how the suppliers describe it rather than a difference in the machine1.

Who it suits comes down to duty. The supplier's own description is "ideal for non-intensive domestic or semi-professional use"1. In practice that means a household that wants a few hours of power during a storm-related cut, or a small business that needs occasional backup, rather than a site that runs a generator all day. If you are weighing a generator against a battery-based alternative, the comparison of portable power stations and petrol generators sets out the trade-offs, and the guide to portable generators explains the different types.

Specifications at a glance

The figures below come from the supplier's product listings. Where the two listings differ, both are given.

SpecificationPramac P3500i
TypePetrol inverter generator, single-phase1
Rated output3,000W (3.00 kVA continuous)1
Maximum output3,300W (3.30 kVA maximum)1
Voltage and frequency230V, 50Hz1
EngineFour-stroke OHV petrol, 212cc, 3000 rpm, Stage V1
Fuel tank10 litres1
Run timeAbout 6 hours at 75% load1
Oil capacity600ml2
AC outletsTwo 13A UK sockets (BS1363)1
USB outletsTwo 5V 2A1
StartingElectric or recoil1
Noise61 dB(A) at 7m1
Weight49.5kg1
Dimensions601 x 458 x 552mm1
Warranty12 months or 150 hours, whichever comes first1
A petrol inverter generator standing outdoors on a paved surface, well away from doors and windows, with a lead running to the house
The P3500i must run outdoors, well clear of doors, windows and air vents.

The P3500i/o version shares the same output, voltage, dimensions, weight and starting method, but its listing gives a run time of 5.5 hours at 75% load and a noise figure of 66 dB(A) at 7m3. If you are buying, check which version is being offered and which figures apply to it.

What it can power, and for how long

The headline numbers are 3,000W continuous and 3,300W maximum1. Continuous output is what the generator can supply for as long as it runs; the maximum figure is the short burst available when something with a motor starts up. The P3500i has a feature called Powerrush, which the supplier says "increases electrical current upon demand, above rated output when starting electric motors"1. That is the mechanism behind the surge rating, and it is why a fridge or freezer compressor can start on a generator whose continuous rating looks close to the appliance's running load.

Working out what your own household needs is the step before buying. The guide to watts, watt-hours and surge explains how to add up appliance loads and allow for starting surges, and what size generator you need takes the same question step by step. Deciding what to keep running helps you choose between the fridge, the heating controls and the phone chargers when you cannot have everything.

Run time is the other half of the calculation. On a full 10 litre tank the P3500i runs for about 6 hours at 75% load1. Load matters: the economy mode automatically adjusts engine speed to the optimum level for fuel economy and noise reduction, so a lighter load should stretch the fuel further, though the published figure is the 75% one1. For a sense of scale, a 1000W unit with a 5 litre tank is quoted by its maker at about 6 hours at 500W4; the P3500i carries twice the fuel and a much larger engine, so plan refuelling stops rather than expecting a full night from one tank. The guide to generator run time covers how load and fuel affect duration.

Starting it, economy mode and Powerrush

The P3500i starts either electrically or by recoil pull1. Before any start, check the oil and fuel, and site the generator outdoors on a firm, level surface, well away from doors, windows and vents. The control panel carries a digital display showing output status with a green indicator light, and overload and oil alarms with red indicator lights, alongside a voltmeter and hour meter1. The hour meter is worth using: it is how you keep track of the 150 hour warranty limit1.

Once running, economy mode is the setting for household backup. The supplier states that it "automatically adjusts the engine speed to the optimum level to provide excellent fuel economy and noise reduction"1. For a long outage, running in economy mode with a modest load is the way to make the tank last.

Powerrush is the feature that helps when a motor starts. The supplier's description is that it "increases electrical current upon demand, above rated output when starting electric motors"1. In practice, start appliances one at a time rather than switching everything on at once, so the surge from one motor is not competing with another.

"Powerrush increases electrical current upon demand, above rated output when starting electric motors."
Just Generators product listing1

Built-in protections and the control panel

The P3500i carries a set of protections listed by the supplier: overload, Oil Guard, overvoltage, overtemperature and short circuit, with a control panel rated IP 441. The low-oil shutdown is described as safeguarding the engine from damage automatically1. These protections are there to stop a mistake turning into a repair bill, but they are a backstop. Check the oil before every start and keep the load within the rated output.

The panel's indicator lights tell you what is happening: green for output, red for overload and oil alarms1. If a red light comes on, stop, switch off the load and investigate before restarting. The guide to generator safety covers the wider rules on fuel, carbon monoxide and electric shock.

Size, weight and noise in practice

The P3500i measures 601 x 458 x 552mm and weighs 49.5kg, so plan where it will stand before you need it: outdoors, on firm ground, with a route for the lead back to the house that does not run through water or across a doorway1. The guide to storing a generator covers where and how to keep it between uses.

Noise is the other practical constraint. The P3500i is quoted at 61 dB(A) at 7 metres1. That is a working-engine sound that neighbours will hear, particularly in a quiet street at night. The guide to generator noise and neighbours explains what the figures mean and how siting affects them. The P3500i/o listing gives 66 dB(A) at 7m, so the two versions are not identical on this point3.

Fuel, oil and what comes in the box

The carton includes an oil bottle, a funnel and plugs1. The tank holds 10 litres of petrol, which you supply yourself1. The engine oil capacity is 600ml2. Check the level before each start and top up as the maker instructs; the low-oil shutdown protects the engine, but it is not a substitute for checking1.

Storing petrol at home has limits and rules, and the guide to how much petrol you can store safely sets them out. Keep fuel in a proper container, away from the generator while it is running and away from any source of ignition.

The P3500i/o version and parallel connection

The P3500i/o is a variant of the same machine. It shares the 3,000W rated and 3,300W maximum output, the 230V single-phase inverter output, the 601 x 458 x 552mm dimensions, the 49.5kg weight and the electric or recoil starting3. Its listing gives a run time of 5.5 hours at 75% load and a noise figure of 66 dB(A) at 7m, against 6 hours and 61 dB(A) for the P3500i1. The two listings disagree on those two figures, so ask the supplier which version you are buying.

The P3500i has a connector for a parallel kit1. The product information does not state the combined output, what the kit contains or how the connection is made, so check with the supplier before relying on it. Connecting two generators in parallel is not a job to improvise; follow the kit maker's instructions exactly.

Warranty, delivery and where to get help

The warranty is 12 months or 150 hours, whichever comes first1. That hours limit is the one to watch: a household that runs the generator through several long outages could reach 150 hours well inside a year. Use the hour meter on the control panel to keep a record1. The supplier quotes an expected delivery of 2 to 3 working days1.

For the wider picture, the backup power guide covers the options for a household, and using generators and power stations during an outage sets out what to do when the power actually goes. If you are deciding between a generator and a battery unit, the guide to portable power stations explains what they do and how they differ.

Sources (4)
  1. Pramac P3500i Petrol Inverter Generator, Just Generators, 2026-10-25
  2. Pramac P3500i Petrol Inverter Generator, Generators Direct, 2026-06-05
  3. Pramac P3500i/o Petrol Inverter Generator, Just Generators, 2026-10-25
  4. BLUETTI Elite 400 Portable Power Station, BLUETTI, 2026-10-25

Common questions

Can I connect two Pramac P3500i generators together?

The Pramac P3500i has a connector for a parallel kit, so the generator is built to accept one. The product information does not state the combined output, the kit's contents or how the connection is made, so check with the supplier before relying on it. Running two generators in parallel is not something to improvise, and the manufacturer's instructions for the kit should be followed exactly.

How much oil does the Pramac P3500i take, and what is in the box for the first fill?

The oil capacity is 600ml. The carton includes an oil bottle, a funnel and plugs, so you have what you need for the first fill. Check the oil level before every start and top up as the maker instructs. The generator has a low-oil shutdown that protects the engine, but that is a backstop, not a substitute for checking the level yourself.

What comes in the box with the Pramac P3500i?

The carton contains the generator, an oil bottle, a funnel and plugs. You will need to add engine oil before first use and supply your own petrol, because the tank is not filled for delivery. Read the maker's manual before starting it for the first time, particularly the sections on oil, fuel and where the generator may safely be run.

How long is the Pramac P3500i warranty, and is there an hours limit?

The warranty runs for 12 months or 150 hours, whichever comes first. That hours limit matters for anyone using the generator regularly rather than occasionally, because the cover can end on running hours before the calendar year is up. Keep a note of the hours you run it, using the hour meter on the control panel, and keep your proof of purchase.

What is the difference between the Pramac P3500i and the P3500i/o?

Both are 230V single-phase inverter generators with the same 3,000W rated and 3,300W maximum output, the same 601 x 458 x 552mm dimensions and the same 49.5kg weight. The published figures differ on run time (6 hours for the P3500i against 5.5 hours for the P3500i/o at 75% load) and noise (61 dB(A) against 66 dB(A) at 7m). Ask the supplier which version you are being offered.

What engine does the Pramac P3500i use, and what emissions stage is it?

It is a petrol generator with a four-stroke OHV engine of 212cc, rated at 3000 rpm and built to Stage V emissions standards. One distributor describes it as a Loncin engine and another as a Pramac engine; both describe the same Stage V four-stroke unit. Stage V is the emissions standard the engine is built to, not a measure of how much power it produces.

Is the Pramac P3500i for domestic use or for trade use?

The supplier describes it as ideal for non-intensive domestic or semi-professional use. That points to occasional backup during a power cut, or light use around a small business, rather than running it day after day as a site generator. If you need continuous power for long periods, a generator designed for that duty is the better match.